CASSINI In Space

 

Helix Nebula Banner Image
GALILEO

The Galileo Energetic Particles Detector

 

Galileo EPD Handbook

 

Chapter 2. EPD Software

 

LGA Processing Software for the Energetic Particles Detector (continued)

Source: C. Brull and S. Stone, December 19, 1998

 

Appendix D. References and Contact Information

 

References

 

 

Contact Information for Galileo:

 

Type of Question Name Contact Information
Science Tom Armstrong
Dick McEntire
Don Williams
armstrong@ftecs.com
Richard_McEntire@jhuapl.edu
Don_Williams@jhuapl.edu
Items related to understanding the format of real time telemetry data or any unexpected findings in the telemetry data. Dick McEntire seems fairly good at tracking down Steve and asking him questions also. Steve Jaskulek jaskulek@jhuapl.edu
Real time EPD processing questions and questions regarding display software. Robin is a good resource for any EPD questions. Robin Gary
John Koch
robin_parker@jhuapl.edu
Any questions with JPL involvement--for example, questions about data availability and acquisition of data from EPD or other detectors. Neil Murphy
Ken Fujii
nmurphy@gllsvc.jpl.nasa.gov
kfujii@gllsvc.jpl.nasa.gov
MAG team contact.  Also helpful in understanding coordinate transformation information Steve Joy sjoy@galsun.igpp.ucla.edu
Questions about the packet database at JPL Diane Conner dconner@gllsvc.jpl.nasa.gov
Processing real time data at Fundamental Technologies Tom Armstrong armstrong@ftecs.com

 

 

Return to Galileo EPD Handbook Table of Contents Page.

Return to main Galileo Table of Contents Page.
Return to 
Fundamental Technologies Home Page.

 


Updated 1/2/19, Cameron Crane

QUICK FACTS

Manufacturer: The Galileo Spacecraft was manufactured by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Messerschmitt-Bölkow-Blohm, General Electric, and the Hughes Aircraft Company.

Mission Duration: Galileo was planned to have a mission duration of around 8 years, but was kept in operation for 13 years, 11 months, and 3 days, until it was destroyed in a controlled impact with Jupiter on September 21, 2003.

Destination: Galileo's destination was Jupiter and its moons, which it orbitted for 7 years, 9 months, and 13 days.